World Discussions > World Peace

Becoming Border Free


The European Union is becoming more border-free with the addition of 9 new countries to the Schengen zone.  The Schengen zone is named after a Luxembourg village where a first agreement on passport-free travel was struck in 1985.  This expansion will include 9 new countries - Poland, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Hungary, Slovenia, Slovakia, Malta and the Czech Republic - along with the existing members - Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Greece, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden - making a 24 country stronghold.

I know, it's doesn't seem like much, but I get a kick out of hearing people who tare down borders while others are building them.  Silly me!!

Europe with countries labeled:

Europe with the Schengen zone in dark blue:

Note:  Switzerland and the United Kingdom are not included in the Schengen zone, but I know Switzerland is a member of the European Free Trade Agreement.




[0] Message Index

Go to full version