Author Topic: Becoming Border Free  (Read 10087 times)

Offline Sassafras

  • MCF Tech | MSG Mod &
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Posts: 505
  • A Believer
    • Mackinac Coast Eyewear (aka MisFiTs CenTRaL Eyewear)
Becoming Border Free
« on: December 20, 2007, 01:19:54 PM »
The European Union is becoming more border-free with the addition of 9 new countries to the Schengen zone.  The Schengen zone is named after a Luxembourg village where a first agreement on passport-free travel was struck in 1985.  This expansion will include 9 new countries - Poland, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Hungary, Slovenia, Slovakia, Malta and the Czech Republic - along with the existing members - Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Greece, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden - making a 24 country stronghold.

I know, it's doesn't seem like much, but I get a kick out of hearing people who tare down borders while others are building them.  Silly me!!

Europe with countries labeled:

Europe with the Schengen zone in dark blue:

Note:  Switzerland and the United Kingdom are not included in the Schengen zone, but I know Switzerland is a member of the European Free Trade Agreement.


« Last Edit: December 20, 2007, 08:20:27 PM by Sassafras »

It is not for him to pride himself who loveth his own country, but rather for him who loveth the whole world. The earth is but one country, and mankind its citizens. ~~Baha'u'llah

The chief idols in the desecrated temple of mankind are none other than the triple gods of Nationalism, Racialism and Communism, at whose altars governments and peoples, whether democratic or totalitarian, at peace or at war, of the East or of the West, Christian or Islamic, are, in various forms and in different degrees, now worshiping. ~~Shoghi Effendi, The Promised Day is Come